Picture
Probably one of my favorite series off all time is the Divergent Series by Veronica Roth, there are three books in the series, there is Divergent, Insurgent, and Allegiant. I will be reviewing the first book in the series. In my opinion these books started out really good and progressively got worse. 


Divergent is about a girl named Beatrice who has to take a test to figure out what faction she will be in. Then Tori, the girl giving her the test, tells her that she is divergent and that she must not tell anybody because they will find out about her and apparently you aren’t supposed to know about the divergent people because they have genetically pure genes. (which you find out in the third book) Being divergent, Beatrice has to pick what faction she wants to take part in so she chooses Dauntless, dauntless are the brave, the jump off trains, learn to shoot guns, and fight each other. This is new for Beatrice, she changes her name to Tris, and tries to start over. She is Abgnation born, which are the selfless, the barley even look in the mirror.

Of course I wouldn’t like this book if it weren’t for a cheesy love story so yes, there is one. Tris falls for one of the dauntless trainers, who goes by the nickname of four. He got this nickname because he only has four fears. During the stimulations they put you through obstacles where you have to face all of your fears head on, it is very rare to have four fears because most of the people have 11 or 12, Tris only has 7. 

Well basically, Tris falls in love with four and he knows that he is divergent but he doesn’t tell anyone, he tells her that he is divergent too and that they have to stick together. This book honestly confused me to the point where I didn’t even want to read it anymore. Almost ever chapter there was something new that happened that you would have to remember because it would keep coming up again the further chapters and I asked my sister about 700 times what was going on because she had read the books before me. 

Roth used the phrase ‘I grit my teeth’ probably a total of 15 times in the story, I don’t know if she did it intentionally or if it just was a matter of unknowing but I noticed. It didn’t bother me until about the 5th time I herd it and then I started keeping count. I’m not sure what that fact has to do with this book review but It is just something that I noticed. 

Overall, I really recommend this series to anybody who has not read it yet, they are coming out with the first movie in march and I actually think it will be quite good because according to the trailer, the girl who is playing Tris is the main character in the secret life, which if you read my about me tab, you all know I am obsessed with. She is also going to be playing Hazel in the faults in our stars and she plays Amy in the spectacular now!  

This book defiantly was addicting, I read all three books in one week. All three of the books were very hard to put down, especially the first one just because it was setting the foundation for the other two and I found it to be so incredibly interesting. The last one was a bit slow and not to mention, THE SADDEST THING THAT I HAVE EVER READ. The whole book is incredibly boring until about the last 10 pages where everything bad happens. But, aside from this tragic ending, it is a very good series. 




Haylee
12/27/2013 09:49:05 am

Aha Ashlyn I laughed out loud when you were like, "Divergent is a series that progressively got worse." Because truth. Even though I actually liked Insurgent a little more than Divergent, Allegiant was just >.< not the best

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I'm Ashlynn.  I like reading, writing, and macaroni and cheese. (more information in the "About" Link on the left.)

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013