Picture
I just finished reading Go Ask Alice by Anonymous, it was so amazingly amazing. I was recommended to this book by my brother who is 23 so I was kind of shocked when he asked me to read a book that was mainly directed to being targeted for teenage girls. It is a short book, about 200 pages but it was probably one of the best things that I have ever read which is why I felt to make a blog post about it. 


Go Ask Alice is a journal type book that consists of an abundance of diary entries. I am always drawn to books like this because they give you a chance to emotionally connect with the person who is writing them. Other books like this that I have loved are The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Carrie Diaries. This one seemed to be different though because there was no real plot to the book, everything just sort of happened and the author just expects you to understand. At times I had to stop and actually think about what I had just read because It moves pretty quickly but in the end, it is worth the confusion. 

Go Ask Alice is about a girl, who’s name I don’t think is ever mentioned, Who is growing up just like anybody else and then she starts to get involved with drugs and other things that make her go spiraling down. She runs away from home and meets new people that help her and some that do just the opposite. It is written so realistically that the reader may think that maybe the author is the person who really experienced this. This book is honestly, heartbreaking. I was crying during probably like 50% of this book and most of the time, I didn’t even have a reason too. The entire thing is so beautifully written and I know I already said this but I was just obsessed with the writing in this book and I really wish that it would tell us who the author was. 

There is another book who I believe is by the same person and it is called Letting Ana Go. I have it sitting on my bookshelf right now and I intend to read it but, I went a little overboard on my book shopping over the holidays and now I have about 10 books in line in front of it. Form the back, I can tell that it is pretty much just like Go Ask Alice except instead of addiction, it is about a girl who has an eating disorder and it follows her though that life. I really hope that It is just as good as Go Ask Alice although it might be kind of hard to beat. 

Overall, this book was absolutely incredible and I am so glad that my brother recommended this to me in the first place. And now, I am recommending this to anybody who is reading this. 





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I'm Ashlynn.  I like reading, writing, and macaroni and cheese. (more information in the "About" Link on the left.)

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013